5 Things You Should Know Before Using The Instax Mini

Hey girl hey. And boy.

I cannot even count how many films I wasted with the Instax Mini. Unlike other cameras, the Instax Mini prints out films instantly which means you need to try your best to take the perfect picture. Through the lens, it looks good but when it comes out, sometimes it doesn’t turn out as expected. Here are the top 5 things I learned. The hard way. Let’s get started.


 1. Do not take pictures of the mirror.

The instax mini camera is not a normal camera or phone. If you take a picture of a mirror or window, the whole picture would be black and then a flash in the middle. Nothing would really show and trust me, it does not look cute. I lost a lot of pictures in the process of moving and the fact that I had this camera for almost 2 years now so unfortunately, I did lose the picture when this happened. I’ll insert a picture below though on how it would look like.

Screenshot 2017-08-05 at 6.29.48 PM

Credits to Elephantastic who unfortunately doesn’t blog anymore but this picture was very similar to mine and this is basically what would happen if you take a picture of a mirror.

 2. Listen to the settings. 

Not literally but watch where the red light flashes. On the rim of the lens, there are 5 settings. When you’re about to take a picture, there would be a red flash over the setting that matches the lighting.

 

If you’re indoors, you don’t need to worry about it because the red flash would stay at the home icon. But outside, it’s a little tricky. This one time it was really sunny but the camera just flashed to the light sunny so I just figured the camera was messing around and took the picture on the bright sunny setting. The picture came out extremely dark.

 I put my thumb there for privacy reasons but you could just see our silhouettes.

20170805_190451

I also had a situation where the camera flashed back between cloudy and sunny but it flashed cloudy a lot more so I used that setting and it turned out really good. So yeah, just follow the flash.

 3. Don’t expose the film to light. 

Once I bought both white and colourful films. I wanted to use the white film for the day so I took the coloured film and placed it on the table and added the white one. When I went to use the colourful one again, the first picture came out blank. I made a video on the webcam explaining the situation and took the rest of the pictures (7 left) basically just demonstrating how all the films came out blank. I wish I still had the video but it got deleted. I didn’t know that only the first one was damaged and the rest were fine. Stupid me. 😀 $7 wasted. I mean it’s not that bad because I ended up re-using those films and I might make another blog on that but I’m telling you now. Don’t make the same mistake.

 4. Selfies.

Don’t take selfies on the Instax Mini if you don’t have the selfie cam. I once attempted to take one and only half my face came out. But I did once take one with my friends and had someone check the view finder to make sure we were all in the picture. So you could do that but I just recommend have someone else take the photo or get a selfie accessory.

cm

5. Pictures After Sunset

I only used High-key once to take a picture of my baby neighbor. It turned out really vintage and pastel which I love. Surprise surprise I lost that photo too. I’m guessing High-key is the lightest setting and is used for the dark. My parents asked me to take a picture of them and my aunt. I used the cloudy setting because it was a bit after sunset but it wasn’t really dark. I forgot what the red flash said but I took the picture and none of them showed. Instead, the sky’s purplish highlight did and it kind of looked cool.

 

20170805_200243

 


So yeah, these were the lessons that I learned. But without them, I wouldn’t have been able to write this blog so….

And now I know how to take pictures properly like these and so do you.

 *Overlapped for privacy reasons again

20170805_190807

 

I have 2 other blog ideas on this topic.

 1. How To Re-use Empty Pictures 

 2. 3 Ways To Store Your Instax Mini Pictures

Let me know if you would like to see those. I hope you guys enjoyed this blog. I actually took a while making it. If you didn’t then…..comment some blog requests. I’ll see you guys Thursday with a new blog.

 

Bayyy 💞

8 thoughts on “5 Things You Should Know Before Using The Instax Mini

    • Bayance says:

      There were times where I was like ugh no it’s not worth it but tbh I think you should. You could buy one for taking photos of the beach and hanging it in ur room but i strongly recommend you take ones with friends and families because you could find nature images on google but you can’t find memories there. Oh i also recommend you take pics of things that are really important to you. Like if you meet your fav celebrity or your birthday. Things that are worth not just keeping on your phone.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

