Tuesday Thoughts: when you get up too fast

Hey girl hey. And boy.

What happens when you sit for too long and get up really fast to do something else? Orthostatic hypotension. Aka you get dizzy and lose your balance. This used to happen to me a lot when I was younger and I thought it was fainting but turns out it’s just something that happens when your blood rushes to your legs and takes a while to get to your brain because of the sudden movement.

Why am I saying this?

Because this is exactly what happens when you try to get up too fast after a fall of demotivation. You get this sudden burst of motivation and decide you’re superman or superwoman ready to conquer everything in your way. Until you fall down again. And this cycle of demotivation to motivation makes it feel like you’re stuck in this hamster wheel called “no progress”.

I ALWAYS experience this with working out. I’d go long periods of time without exercise and one day comes where I am SO ready to take responsibility of my body, treat it well with a million protein smoothies and everything aesthetic about working out you can think of. I end up going way too hard on my body because of how blinded my brain became to see that we aren’t in cloud 9 and for the next week, I’m crazy sore and I go right back to where I was the day before.

Burnout.

And it’s the exact same thing you do to your body when you get up too fast from your chair.

They say if you fall 100 times, get up 101. But if you are falling and getting up in the exact same spot for the rest of your life, it really won’t get you anywhere.

Everything in life takes time. Pregnancy takes time. A meal takes time. A journey takes time. No destination is reached overnight. We are creatures of haste and impatience but look around you and you will see that growth takes time. And your growth, whether it be mentally, spiritually or physically, will also take time.

So take it easy. Get up slowly, don’t bite more than you can chew and if you fall again, reflect. Reflect on what worked and what didn’t. Then change what wasn’t working. It’s going to be so much trial and error but if you aren’t changing anything about the way you get up, you’ll go right back to where you started.

And humans were not designed to run in a hamster wheel.Β 

So go out and fly. But slowly. Walk, hop and then take off.


 

I hope you guys enjoyed the comeback of Tuesday Thoughts (I literally made the first post and then left it oops). For some reason, I always have realizations on Tuesdays so you might see these post every 2 weeks or every month from now on. I’ve been trying to bring back the shorter type posts because I tend to make my posts super long and we need some variety. I’m not the best at this type of abstract writing so try not to judge πŸ˜‚because a productivity technique post will hopefully be out this Friday and it’ll have more practical tips at looking where you are in life and how to plan out your time wisely (trust me, I’m so far from proper time management but we’re trying) so stay tuned. And after that it’ll be May Wrappers and I’ll update you all on how Eid and my birthday went then. Okay no more rambling. πŸ˜‚

Have you been getting up too quickly with anything lately?

Is your motivation high or low at the moment?Β 

How do you maintain your motivation and productivity (if you answer this, I will include it in my post this Friday!)?

Make sure to check out my last Tuesday Thoughts post if you haven’t already.

I’ll see you in my next post.

Bayyy. πŸ’ž

23 thoughts on “Tuesday Thoughts: when you get up too fast

  1. Beth says:

    Oof I totally get the exercise thing. That’s something I’ve been struggling with for a while. I looked up how much exercise a healthy girl my age should be able to do and tried it. It was really a kick in the butt to get moving. I’m a really competitive person. Every time I start getting lax and not going and doing, I look at what I COULD be and it motivates me to keep going. (Also bullet journaling is a life saverrrrrr) I’m pretty high motivation right now, but it changes hour to hour. One of the biggest things I’ve learned about motivation is you should work on the how or the when or the where, but rather on the why. Constantly remind yourself why you are doing what you’re doing–I heard it called “Why Power”–it really works!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bayance says:

      Ahh yesss! That’s awesome! Keeping the vision in mind is so key! Ahh bullet journalling. I might try it one day. That is SO true omg. I love that and will be sharing it this Friday! Thank you SO much for sharing. ❀

      Like

  2. arshia says:

    This was exactly what I needed to read today! Thank you so much for putting out this idea and expressing it so well. I’ve been struggling with my body image and wanting to feel more confident, and this really put things into perspective about how I should go about it.
    Love and power to you ❀️

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Elsie LMC says:

    This is a brilliant way to look at a comeback after a downfall πŸ™Œ I never used to believe that taking my time would be beneficial but in the last year I have finally learned how to properly pace with my health and that has seeped into my lifestyle and helped a bunch. My motivation is high at the moment and I’m hoping it will stay that way ✨ Great post as always πŸ˜„β€οΈ

    Liked by 1 person

  4. vwani says:

    Orthostatic hypotension, a very big word indeed.
    Lately I have found out that waking up at 6am is just as hard as waking up at 4am, our bodies adjust to laziness with the same energy that we allow them.
    When I am unmotivated reading a book, watching a celebrity interview, listening to a podcast or just taking a walk rejuvenates me.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Amber says:

    Hey Bay! This was honestly too true, I agree as I do this way too much (I don’t mean getting up too fast but I do that a lot too πŸ˜†) but I always get this surge of motivation with my writing and I’ll write like a whole chapter in one sitting and then I won’t write for a month because I’m just burnout and at a loss for ideas, and I’m really trying to stop that at the moment! Eeek motivation feels like it’s crazy high one day and pitifully low the next. The way I stay productive and motivated is: making sure I’m doing what I enjoy, waking up at a reasonable time, making some sort of routine, making to do lists (duh πŸ˜‚) anyways wonderful post and honestly this was so cool how you related it to getting up from a chair or something! Loved that! πŸ₯°

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bayance says:

      Hello queen of Britian!! ❀ WAIT AMBER you didn't use xx this time!!! πŸ˜‚ Anyways, I totally feel you on that and the thing with writing is that it really just likes to go up and down on its own. I know that with me, writing is the driver and I'm the passenger and it sort of just steers me to write and not write depending on its mood. πŸ˜‚ Whereas something that I can control like moving my body is a bit more tangible to work with. Maybe it's just me but I really hope you become more consistent with your writing because my life is incomplete without some Amber novels!! Ahhh thank you so much I will include these in my post today. Tysm!!! ❀

      Liked by 1 person

      • Amber says:

        Why hello there! *curtseys* πŸ˜‚ OMG NO!! It was a mistake… I promise haha! Ah yes, it does feel like that, sometimes with blogging I’m not sue whether I’m the driver or the passenger (I’m probably the one clinging onto the roof rack for their life 🀭) Ah true! If only things were as easy as moving my body πŸ˜‚ Me too Bay, we have a posting schedule so I really think I can do this! Aw don’t worry your life will be complete πŸ˜‚ No worries at all, I will look forward to reading that!! πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Ash @ Starlight Strands says:

    you have no idea how much i loved reading this, Bay!! i’ve experienced ‘getting up too fast’ so many times with exercise as well – a few days ago, i went all out with workouts and ~aesthetic~ smoothies and i woke up the next day very sore and tired. πŸ˜‚ my motivation hasn’t been the best lately, so this was just the inspiring post i needed!! thank you SO much for writing this πŸ’–πŸ’–

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Chloe C. says:

    This was goooood. I try staying motivated by making a list or schedule at night before bed (why do I always get bursts of motivation and the urge to live life to the fullest at night? I will never know…). It gives me something to look forward to for the next day and stay on track! I also pray and spend time in the Bible for encouragementπŸ’• This series is so fun!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bayance says:

      Thank you!!! ❀ RIGHTTT?!! πŸ˜‚ Like I do a 180 to my life and change so many things and by the morning I forgot 99% of the changes I thought of. πŸ˜‚ Yess so true thank you so much for sharing! Yes sisss it's so important to keep that connection with God throughout your day because it's the easiest thing to get too caught up in the hustle and bustle so I'm glad you're incorporating that in your day! Thank you so much. ❀ ❀

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Emmie πŸ’– says:

    Thanks for the tips and ideas! Lately I’ve been using my bullet journal as a to-do list, but normally I just have a mental list of things I need to get done in a certain period of time plus the events/appointments I have, but I definitely think it would help to try some of these!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment