7 Time Management Techniques To Get Your Life Together ft. Amina

Hey girl hey. And boy.

I don’t know about you but I’m the absolute worse at time management and I ruled the kingdom of procrastination a few months ago. 😂 Recently, with quarantine and the abundant time on our hands, I thought I should seriously start taking responsibility for the time I have and using it wisely. I knew it would take a lot of work and a lot of trial and error but throughout Ramadan, I have found a few techniques that really helped organize my time. You can call these productivity tips as well but I will have a ‘instant productivity tips’ section to go with my next ‘Why I Love Chores’ post so definitely be on the lookout for that. Time management takes a bit more planning and isn’t so instant but it will definitely leave you feeling productive, refreshed, and focused.

skipping gifs | WiffleGif

In my last post, I asked you guys for productivity and motivation tips so thank you for all who sent them in. I will be popping them in quotations throughout this post so definitely be on the lookout. And finally, this is a collab with the amazing Amina from Fresh Perspectives! She’s going to be posting “Things to Continue After Ramadan” so make sure to check it out. And hopefully by the end of the two, we can kick off the rest of 2020 STRONG.

So without further ado, let’s get starteddd.


 

The tips are divided into 2 sections: figuring out your priorities + getting them done.

“One of the biggest things I’ve learned about motivation is you should work on the how or the when or the where, but rather on the why. Constantly remind yourself why you are doing what you’re doing–I heard it called “Why Power”–it really works!!” – The Weekly Beth

1. FIGURING OUT PRIORITIES

This is the section that required a lot of thinking for me but I think it’s so important to reflect on yourself from time to time and really think to yourself “who am I and what do I want to achieve?” It’s not the time for an existential crisis but just a boost for you to focus more in your day to day.

  • Mind Map

mde

As you can see, I’m all over the place. I made this mind map a couple months ago and trust me when I say the career considerations had 20 more jobs added to the list. 😂 I mean seriously, I started contemplating neuroscience and geology. It’s kind of chaotic but anyways. I identified about 10 roles that describe me right now and tried to assemble them around the map. So in Family, I put daughter, sibling, future wifey and future mama. Yes, I wrote future wifey. In Education, I put pure focus because I need to ensure that I get through my high school career without too many distractions. For careers, I put all the careers I’m thinking of and I can go into each to see what skills I need but probably down the road. For Islam, I wrote down a few goals I had to ensure I am trying to be the best Muslim I can be. And for Palestine, I wrote down a few awareness and charity goals that I was thinking of because Palestinian issues is something I don’t want to leave the world without doing something about. So think about your own life, who you are, and what that translates into goals and skills you need to have.

Animated GIF - Find & Share on GIPHY

 

  • Goals VS Responsibilities

This is one a friend of mine shared with me and you can take it two ways. One, your goals and the action steps you need to do in order to achieve them. Or two, your personal goals and your responsibilities at the moment. So if you are a student, your responsibilities are towards your studies but your goal is ultimately to get a job you love/earn a living.

dav

 

I personally did the first one so let’s say one of my goals was “write a book”, my responsibility right now would then be “blog more often”, “brainstorm book ideas” or whatever it may be.

 

 

 

  • The Eisenhower Matrix

I saw this in a video once and it definitely helped me identify a few things I needed to cut out of my life. The graphic below explains this technique and I personally really like it.

Avoid the Urgency Trap with the "Eisenhower Matrix" (Step-By-Step ...

  •  The 4 Quadrants of Life

This is a combination of something I heard from a sheikh and my own idea but basically identify 4 aspects of your life and your responsibilities/goals for them. Here is one that I made on canva.

Personal

Religion is included in personal time but because I like to add more things in that time, I just made it a separate quadrant. For you, that separate quadrant might be health or your business or whatever you make of it. But pick 4 categories that you need to have a balance of in your day. This activity really helped me create my to-do list that we’ll get to later.

“When I am unmotivated reading a book, watching a celebrity interview, listening to a podcast or just taking a walk rejuvenates me.” – Vwani

 

2. GETTING THINGS DONE

  • To-do List

This took SO much trial and error with me to figure out what works for me personally. I like to use a whiteboard for this but you can do it on paper. Here are a few techniques I tried up until now:

  1. Separating the list by category (eg. education, language, chores) and listing what I need to do under it.
  2. Just a big to-do list that corresponds with my monthly goals (I use my little brother’s here as an example)
  3. Board game style to see the order of the things I need to finish
  4. Cloth hangers between prayer times and placing the things I need to do in between

I soon found out that the second method just didn’t work with me. The first one sort of did. The third one helped but I’d just get too distracted. But the last one REALLY worked. Although it has more things compared to the other ones (22 because it’s my fav number lol) setting it between specific time frames has helped me determine what time in the day I’m in and what I need to get done. Sometimes I do need to improvise and shuffle things around but I’ve stuck to the order that I wrote it in for the most part. The 22 things in the last one are everything I want to do in a day to balance out the things I want to do that I listed in the 4 quadrants. I’ve also found a way to start tracking how much I got accomplished by graphing how much of the 22 I do every day.

mde

By the end of June, I’ll be able to see my ups and downs and if this method is helping me organize my time so I’ll definitely update you guys in my June Wrappers (isA!).

“The way I stay productive and motivated is: making sure I’m doing what I enjoy, waking up at a reasonable time, making some sort of routine, making to do lists (duh 😂)”Amber

  • Calendar

I love calendars!! They help me track blog posts, showers, meetings, periods, workouts and more. Our teacher gives us our week at glance at the start of the week so I’m able to plan out what schoolwork I’m doing on which day. Calendars help me with the variable things in life and if it wasn’t quarantine, I’d have a lot more of those haha. There’s this site called print a calendar and it just prints out a super simple calendar for any month you want. My printer didn’t have ink in April so I hand-drew mine for that month and it was the first month I used a calendar consistently.

mde

I recommend you getting a poster board for one month in the year where you are extremely busy. For me, I’d get one for Ramadan because there’s many things I need to track. For you it might be December, exam season, summer or whatever it is that you might need a calendar magnified a little for.

mde

Personally, calendars are not my favourite way to plan things in detail because I don’t end up doing them but they’re perfect for planning out the other quick things that I mentioned above.

 

  • Planner

Planners are amazing tools for time management. But for me personally, we just never mixed well. Whether it was the planners they give you in elementary school or the planners from Costco now, I don’t work by specific timings. There are just so many variable things to life especially that I live at home with my family and so many things can get delayed from surprises. But if you think it works for you, definitely try it out!

mde

You can also use bullet journals that I never personally tried but they’re super aesthetic and can help you out as well.

Impossibly Neat Planners of Instagram | Creative Market Blog My Bullet Journal Diary | Bullet journal aesthetic, Journal diary ... Layout Ideas for the Bullet Journal: Moon & Stars — evydraws

P.S. I just realized that all my photos were super dark even though I took them mid afternoon. Is it me or the sun? 😂


Anddd that’s all for today.

Make sure to check out Amina’s post here.

How do you plan your time?

Which technique was your favourite?

Are you a queen procrastinator?

I’ll see you in my next post.

Bayyy. 💞

P.S. Just revamped my blog for the summer!!

28 thoughts on “7 Time Management Techniques To Get Your Life Together ft. Amina

  1. ❥ D says:

    Thank you for sharing these tips!! I really like how you included different systems you can use. I’m personally interested in that Eisenhower matrix 🤔 it’s also nice to hear that you have figured out what works for you. Here’s to being more productive & managing time better! 👏🏼👏🏼

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bayance says:

      No problem and thank you so much for reading!! ❤ Yess it was super helpful to figuring out what I need to cut off and work on more – definitely give it a go. YASSS. 👏🏼👏🏼👏🏼

      Liked by 1 person

  2. arshia says:

    Just your first point had me in awe. This is so meticulous, and that people have the ability to be this organised is so inspiring! It’s so weird to say it, but I literally only function on energy and vibes. Like, yes, I adhere to deadlines when I absolutely have to, but everything else is like “i do not like the vibe the idea of exercising is emanating today, goodbye” and at times it’s just ridiculously funny to me how I’m even functioning as a human being hahaha!
    Definitely going to try to be more practical and use these techniques to see how it goes!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bayance says:

      Dfhjhdjhgyyds trust me I’m not even close to the word organised but thank you!! Okay but why is this actually me when it comes to schoolwork and writing. I don’t know what it is but if I don’t have the writing vibe, nothing will come out. But ahaha it never happened to me in other things so I can literally envision myself going like going to a mandatory meeting? Yeah the vibe is just not right today. 😂 Vibes can be a good thing sometimes so it’s nice to have a strong gut feeling especially with people. Do you feel vibes with people too? If so, I’ll bring my future husband and ask if he’s got a good vibe or not. 😂 Yasss update me some time if you try them!

      Like

  3. christina says:

    definitely will be saving this post! these tips are sooo helpful, I really love the idea of a productivity graph and will be trying that out in june! 💛

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Salonie Malhotra says:

    Well, I should be included in the gang of Queens of Procrastination because really, I do everything else that isn’t put down in my To Do List- might I start creating a Things Not to Do List.
    Anyway, recently I’ve been successful in completing some bits from my List.Which is brilliant. The thing that worries me still is I am never able to cross out the whole list in a day. Probably that’ll develop over time? Idk.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bayance says:

      Okay but I 100% relateeee!! 😂 I’ve heard Things Not to Do Lists work so well so you might need to try one haha.
      Tell me about it!! I think it’s definitely something that comes with practise and obviously there’ll be days when something comes up and you can barely get anything done. I’ve been sticking to my list for a week now and it’s never been fully complete. That’s why I’m graphing it to see if I’ll ever plateau somewhere or where I generally lie. I’d recommend maybe removing a few things from the list if they’re getting too much or placing them around the day so that you have deadlines to do them. Let me know how it goes!! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Amber says:

    All these tips are just amazing ad so in depth, I really love everything you’ve included and the quote you included from me haha I love how I featured on your post!! 💕 The Eisenhower Matrix sounds super interesting, I’ve never heard of that but will be promptly checking it out! Calendars have just never worked for me for some reason (in exam season I admit they are a life saver!) but I love everything else, I’ve started my bujo again for June and am honestly glad I’ve got back to it because there are so many habits and just general things I want to track this month! I have this really cool notepad that’s a tear thing and it basically has Everyday Reminders, To Do list, and a space for me to write any notes (usually I just write everything I need to do tomorrow) 😂 All these tips are amazing though, seriously Bay this maybe one of my favourite posts ever seen on the blogosphere!! This week I definitely have stayed procrastinating, I am so glad it’s a new week soon because I need to slay some goals 😂 Now this British queen knows her workouts aren’t going to work themselves out, so speak soon xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bayance says:

      Oh my God thank you so much for this heart-warming comment!! ❤ Let me know how it goes. Ahhh I feel you. Calendars don't work for to-do lists but they help me track things AFTER I do them. 😂 It's good that you know what works for you and doesn't though! Yasss aesthetic bullet journals!! Oooh yes Amber you need to make an organization post especially with the amazing tips you commented in the last post! Thank you so much ahhh! SLAY SISSS ❤ The british queen is backkk and she ain't gonna slack. 😂 I'm a poet, I know. Tysm for commenting!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Amber says:

        Of course Bayance!! My comments have so many grammar mistakes I’m sorry 😭 I will do! That’s really good, I’m glad you’ve found something to help track there things 🙂 Aesthetic bullet journals for the win!! 😂 Yess that is such a good idea I have so much post inspiration but just ack no motivation 😩 Of course!! HAHA I LOVE THAT!! Yep this girl ain’t slacking, that poem was like Oscar winning! Anytime xx

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Amina says:

    Forgot to comment earlier but GIRL this post is amazinggg. I love your writing! Your blog is seriously an inspiration for me. I’m gonna give the four quadrants of life and the Eisenhower Matrix a try because whew I need to get my life together. Oh and I started and abandoned a bullet journal but hopefully I find motivation to continue 😂😂

    Tysm for the chance to collab!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bayance says:

      SISSSS YOU’RE THE INSPIRATION hfsykvryigstj thank you so much!! Yasss they really helped me so definitely give them a go! Oh noooo start it again!! Make a monthly bujo or something and post it to motivate you. Tysm for collabing – it was my pleasure!! ❤️❤️

      Liked by 1 person

  7. xoxlucy says:

    This is perfectly timed with being in lockdown and everything else going on, I think you have a secret ability because your posts are always so relatable and perfect for whatevers currently going on! It’s okay, I’ll keep your secret safe shhhh 🙂
    Hahaha, you should start a series called Getting Your Life Together 😉 I would be a frequent visitor of that series because, I think I always need help getting everything together.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bayance says:

      Ahhh thank you so much I’m so glad it came at the right time. Hahahha how did you know omg!! 😂😂
      Okay but I’m nowhere close to getting my life together. 😂 Thank you so much for the suggestion and I’ll see if anything comes up. You need to make a getting life together post!!

      Like

Leave a comment