Tuesday Thoughts: Say Yes

Hey girl hey. And boy.

This was a message I wanted to write about ever since I started this blog but I literally forgot about it until now. I’m going to give you guys three recent situations that happened in my life and I’ll talk about this concept throughout.

Say yes. 

In 2017, I was invited to a friend’s birthday party across the street from a hotel we were staying at after travel. Initially, I wasn’t going to go because I had just gotten back from a year in a different country and I was in this mindset where I didn’t want to see anyone I knew until the school year started lol. I didn’t know if I would adjust well or fit in but for some reason, I decided I was just going to go for it. Oh and keep in mind that we were pretty young and most of us were Muslim so it wasn’t something like drinking or bad situations that I was saying no to, just a matter of me feeling like I might feel excluded or awkward.

But did any of that happen?

No, the opposite did. It was such a fun time and it holds some of the funnest inside jokes to this day. I met new friends and had a chance to reconnect with old ones who would turn out to be close friends at the school I went to a year later.

Here’s another example. In 2018, this organization manager came to our business class to talk about a business program for high school students. It seemed cool and I was the only one to take a brochure but I just sort of thought in the back of my mind that I wouldn’t sign up. A couple days later, the deadline to sign up was soon approaching and I stumbled across the brochure in my bag. I told my dad about it and began to list the cons such as it being a hassle to drive me far away every week and me not knowing anyone and so on. But my dad thought otherwise and said it would be a great learning opportunity.

So I went for it, my expectations at 0 and I showed up late the first day because we went to the wrong location. It was really awkward but I decided to stay. I decided to say yes.

And what happened? I moved homes and it was actually closer to that program. New friends that made the school I was going to the next year so much better. Being my true self around people I didn’t know. Creating the best memories and going on a free business trip that was the highlight of my summer.

I could have said no like the rest of my class and just stayed in my comfort zone. I could have waited until I was older or waited for “next year” but would that have happened with the corona situation? 

Finally, a few weeks ago I was invited to join this teacher training for 12 weeks in the summer and every week, I was supposed to go over the Islamic course material and teach it to the founders of that organization and other instructors. Mind you that I’m probably the youngest person there because this course is for University students but I managed to squeeze in because my city only had a few people enrolled. Looking over the material, I thought no way.

I’m too young, I’m going to mess up, I’m not prepared, I’ll try next year.

So I messaged the manager of the training and he sent me a message asking me to reconsider my decision and to know that nothing but benefit will come out of it. So I thought about it and realized that I was going to write the Say Yes post that day.

But how can I tell you to say yes when I haven’t done so myself?

I tried it that day and it was nothing but inspiring and empowering and we had such amazing discussions and it just blew my expectations out of proportion. Maybe if I said next year the training wouldn’t be there or the people will be different..etc.    

And there’s just so many more examples like:

  • saying yes to talking to someone new
  • saying yes to doing the right thing
  • saying yes to starting a business
  • saying yes to writing a blog post about something you care about
  • saying yes to joining new clubs
  • saying yes to learning a new skill

I always remembered Zoella’s quote “You will start to enjoy life more the more you say yes to things” and she’s been such an inspiration to starting this blog.

I want to make myself clear that I want you to say yes to your gut feeling or your inner voice that tells you what is right and wrong. This voice can get distorted over time if you don’t follow God’s revelation but try to keep it within the limits to what you know is right. Say yes to what doesn’t make you comfortable. What challenges your bad habits like smoking, drugs, parties..etc.  But I’m also not telling you to say yes to a night out with bad friends. So please please use your own judgement and only say yes if it’s legal, mama approved and all that jazz. Leave any situations you have in the comments if you want any Grandma B counsel. 

Say yes despite you thinking you aren’t good enough. Do what’s right and seize every opportunity you get.

But also be prepared for it to not work out. 

You might audition for that talent show and not make it. You might try that business and have it fail. You might apply to that trip and have it cancelled. You might make it all the way to the top of the line of the scariest roller coaster in that theme park but get turned away.   

When I was in 2nd grade, I was going to get enrolled in an Islamic school but they didn’t have enough space for me. As a result, all my siblings and I went to public school. Sometimes I wonder what would have happened if I came sooner. If I was always surrounded by Muslims and Islamic upbringing at school. But it wasn’t what was right for me at the time. Maybe growing up in public schools taught me to stand my own ground and to navigate what is wrong and right despite the crowd going the other way. 

So say yes but don’t stress it if it doesn’t work out. If it works, you learn and if it doesn’t, you also learn. 

It’s a win-win.


 

With that, I wish you all an amazing day and I’ll see you in my next post. 

When was the last time you said yes?

Is there a current decision you have to take in your life?

Bayyy. 💞

22 thoughts on “Tuesday Thoughts: Say Yes

  1. Jasmin@thewriterofletters.com says:

    YES YES YES GIRL.
    Totally love this post and I totally support the whole topic! Saying yes is so important, (I’m weird and think about death) but when I die I want to be happy about the chances I took and not so disappointed about the chances that I didn’t. One of my favorite quotes is “Aspire to inspire before you expire” and I whole-heartedly believe and want to enforce that. Anyways, I absolutely loved this post and I’m so sorry for not being an active and engaging follower recently, life is crazy. Loved this SO MUCH ❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bayance says:

      AHHH that’s the spirittt!! That is SO true and no worries I think reflecting on death is superr important! Imagine just dying suddenly after post-poning something for a year because you just didn’t feel worth it or good enough. Some opportunities only come once so it’s so important to seize every one!
      LOVE that quote!! Girl are you kidding me?! 😯😂 1). I haven’t posted in ages and 2). I’M the one who hasn’t been reading your posts lately but with my new blogging schedule I have 3 days in the week to purely just catch up on posts so will get to it asap. Tysmmmm for reading! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Elsie LMC says:

    This is AMAZING!! 🙌✨ I remember one time 4 years ago that has stayed with me where I wish I’d followed my gut feeling which was trying to protect me and said “no” as things went horribly wrong, that’s the only time I’ve felt within that I really shouldn’t do something and it taught me that I should listen to myself more. Other than that good things have come from saying yes and doing what feels right, it’s led me to meet some incredible people and have life experiences I could have only dreamed of when I was younger (although in isolation they feel a mile off as I can’t imagine things getting back to where they once we’re for some time). I’ve learned not to bring myself down in regretting times in the past where I’ve said no and later wished I’d said yes because in that moment it just wasn’t in me yet as I’d get so anxious, even if I do now I’ll think about things more rationally and try my best to give them a go if it’s what I truly want. This post really made me think about stuff I’ve pushed to the side and should acknowledge, such an inspiring read!! 💫💕

    Liked by 2 people

    • Bayance says:

      Ahh thank you SO much I’m so glad you agreed! Listening to yourself is so key so say yes but also within the means of it actually allowing you to grow in the right direction! YESSSS GO ELSIE ❤ That's so true like even if we said no in our lives, it shouldn't bring us down but just remind us that there are hopefully more opportunities to say yes down the road! Yesss! I'm so glad this was helpful and I hope all goes well with you. TYSM for reading!! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  3. flawed_silence says:

    I read this at like 5am and nodded my head along like YES, YES, YESSSS GIRL PREACH. for soooo long ive let fear and judgement and being anxious and shy put me off doing things or trying things that my insides were jumping up and down saying YES YES YES. but this year ive slowly developed a it is what it is kinda attitude and thrown myself to take opportunities that will help me or align with my dreams. and so what if it flops. I’d have learned a valuable lesson and developed my character and grown stronger.

    so proud of you, and honestly warmed my heart and inspired me reading your accomplishments. rooting for you always!! loved this post. beautiful advice and encouragement for us all

    Liked by 3 people

    • Bayance says:

      Ahhhh sis thank you SO much and I’m so glad this resonates with you. This comment makes my heart warm like I’m honestly so proud of you and we love some self development!! If we get so worried about it flopping, we can miss out on the possibility of it actually being a success!! Yessss SIS I love that!

      OMG right back at youuuu – thank you SOOO much for reading ❤

      Liked by 1 person

    • Bayance says:

      Right?!!! That’s the beautiful thing about decision making. Human beings are the only creation with choice and I think we should seize every one by doing what’s right! ❤ Tysm for reading!!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. It's Yusra Patni says:

    YESSSS!!!! Absolutely amazing post, you should be so proud. Honestly yes I have had times like these where I was reluctant to do something and it turned out to be completely amazing so I really get what you’re saying. Thanks for writing this and have a great dayyyy!!!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Gracie says:

    OH MY GOSH JUST YES YES YES. The fear of stepping outside our comfort zone holds us back from doing so much and from making the world a better place for us and for others. Amazing post!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. xoxlucy says:

    Yessss girl!!!! I’m actually the opposite of not saying yes my, first automatic answer to everything is yes( Hahha, that sometimes comes back to haunt me😂). But I do need to step out of my confront some more!
    Love Tuesday thoughts, yes and yes to that 💖❤️Keep on preaching 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Amber says:

    Bayance what a topic! I think this is so true, by the time we about to say ‘yes’ we overthink it and then go into a tail spin about everything that could go wrong but we’ll never know unless we try it. I think all those things you have done are incredible, that is seriously so brave of you and honestly Grandma B you are an inspiration to us all ❤️ This week I had my first two days of the new school I’m going to and there was a lot of ‘should I do it’ or ‘should I say it’ or ‘should I talk to them’ but this has just inspired to suck it up and say yes. Thank you so much Bay for another incredible post! 🥰

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bayance says:

      Thank you so much and that is so true like sis preach and omg I am nothing close to brave like I’m literally scared of every little thing but definitely when it comes to experiences in life I would recommend everybody to just jump on the benefits that come from scary but keyword beneficial experiences. Wait are you starting a new school this week or are you finishing school? Ty so so so much! ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • Amber says:

        No worries at all! You seem so brave Bayance and your posts are so inspiring and honestly just make me want to try be the best version of myself and to also take all those chances that life is giving me ☺️ For sure! Ah I’m in transition to my new school (I basically go there for 3 weeks) and I’ve completed a week which is awesome but I’m only going in 3 half days next week and then my last week I’m only going in one half day but I’m not complaining going because bring on summer!! 😂 Of course Bay it’s so lovely to read your comments again 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment