May + June Wrappers (lifestyle changes, bird drama, gardening + more)

Hey girl hey. And boy.

Where did time flyyyy? Can you believe it’s the end of the school year already? This is the second time I combine two months and although I’ve been doing it unintentionally, it’s actually working out well because there’s not too much changing. I think I might keep it that way until September. Do you guys like the once in two months check in or do you prefer it monthly? Let me know. I will try to make everything concise though because if monthly wrappers are long, imagine two months. So I’ll try to keep it short and sweet but skim through to what interests you and let’s get starteddd.

Last Wrapper Post: April Wrappers (e-learning, ramadan + more)


 

(E)-School

School is finally out! Coursework got harder in the last two months so it was definitely relieving to finish.

Cooking was pretty boring and we didn’t make new recipes. One week we were assigned to watch Ratatouille. 😂 I definitely put some cooking tips to practise though like cutting onions and mise en place. You guys requested that I post some of the things I made for cooking class in April so here they are:

I tried to do some more cooking like making quesadillas, cookies and apple turnovers but when I tell you that I actually get heart attacks in the kitchen, I’m not kidding. 😂

The rest of my courses were frustrating at times but it was overall pretty good in the end. I talk about my e-learning experience as a whole in this post so make sure to check it out if you haven’t already.

qatayef (2)


 

Life

Oookay we have quite a bit to get through here.

In May, Ramadan continued and ended and it was definitely one to remember. I feel like it was so long ago but that it also went by fast at the same time if that even makes sense. I began my no junk food “diet” but it’s not really a diet- just me trying to transition to whole foods (even though I ate a donut today oops 😂). The amount of food comas I had in Ramadan though – in earlier years, Ramadan’s night prayer would be later in the night but now it’s like an hour after sunset so I barely had time to digest. I lost some weight which doesn’t make sense because I felt like I was pregnant with food all month tbh but hey, hopefully I can maintain the unintentional weight loss. 😂

love tumblr quotes THIS IS NOT POSSIBLE junk food no way envlin •

preachhh

My birthday came around in May as well! We made apple pie (photo below is apple turnovers because I forgot to take a pic of my apple pie) because I was craving it for a solid two weeks but when we actually made it, it wasn’t that good. I tried to bake a few more things in the last two months but like I told you earlier, I’m literally so bad at baking. And it takes so long too. So whoever wants to lose weight can hire me to cook for them because I will not be making any more when I’m older. Your dessert will be fruits. Period. 😂

dav

My siblings got bikes and my mom got a seating area to go outside so I’ve been getting so much more fresh air. With the restrictions lightening we started to have some family over and I’ve been walking more often with friends. I remember one day I was feeling kind of down and my parents took us to the park. When I tell you that my mood went from 0 to a 100 real quick though. There is so much mental healing and signs in God’s creation – it’s surreal! We had a bird build a nest on our porch light and the eggs hatched on Eid – my heartttt they were so cute. My sibling stood on a chair to see how many hatched and two baby birds attempted to fly because of how scared they were. They couldn’t fly and just walked away. My dad tried to pick them up but the mom came back to see a bunch of giant ogres touching her babies and she got so MAD. It was so scary but we didn’t see the birds since so hopefully they’re up and flying. It was their appointed time to fly because a day later the third bird flew so let’s hope for the best. The fourth egg didn’t hatch and died though so we buried it.

In Ramadan, I started doing the dishes and after Eid I started cleaning like crazy. Housework has become so easy now but I still have a few chores to learn in the summer. I did a few cleaning projects like deep cleaning my parent’s room, the kitchen, the hallway closet and my room. If you have the time to do some deep cleaning, now’s the time to do it! Trust me, it really helps if you feel demotivates or down.

Eid consisted of ka’ak overdoses, zoom meetings and texts. The mosques weren’t open at the time so there was a virtual Eid prayer. We didn’t visit or have anyone come over but it was still a nice Eid!

mde

We’ve been getting into a lot of gardening lately too. I put the end of a lettuce in water and lettuce grew! We put it in the soil two days ago so hopefully my sister (our official home gardener) will take it from there. 😂

dav


 

Blogging

I’ve been experimenting a lot with time management and I’m discovering so many new tips and tricks along the way. Would you guys like a separate post on productivity tips or do you want it like a short blog post series where I do one every time I learn something? Let me know. I’m finally finding time for reading, writing consistently in my diary, Islamic online courses and just balancing my day out. I did say no electronics after sunset but here we are. 😂 I’m still trying to find a suitable time for blogging though but today I actually wrote down the blog posts like Elsie suggested and I’m typing them up now and it helped so much! Hopefully we see more consistent blogging in July!

Blog Post Of The Month

Let’s Get Real: Black Lives Matter

April’s Most Popular Post

Let’s Get Real: Black Lives Matter

black lives matter(1)

Blogger Of The Month

Anna Coleman joined the blogosphere in April and she is SLAYING it. I love reading new blogger’s posts because that energy in the first couple months of blogging is so inspiring. I don’t know if any older bloggers agree but it’s going to be my 3rd anniversary at the end of July already and 2017 Bay vs 2020 Bay is like a 7 year old to a grandma. 😂 So Anna’s posts are so fun to read and she’s so consistent and just deserves a million followers. So definitely check out her posts!!

Favourite Blog Post from the Blogosphere

A Black Lives Matter poem I read in the blogosphere from Prayer Poetry Peace was super powerful and touching. I definitely recommend! I also really liked Absolutely Olivia’s Thinking About The Future post as I resonated with it greatly!

And thank you to EVERYONE for your support and posts this month – I loved them all and I will try my best to read more in July!! ❤


 

May + June Favourites

Favourite movie: Ratatouille

See the source image

Favourite youtuber: It’s still With Love Leenah – she’s literally all I watched in the past two months lol

Hobby: Reading outdoors

See the source image

Fav Outfit: Long plaid cardigan and wide green pants

See the source image    See the source image

Cravings: Ka’ak, banana milkshake, banana ice cream and granola bars

See the source image See the source image

Fav Day of The Week: Saturdays

Fav App: Quranic

Quranic was such a great app for my younger siblings to get them learning how to read the Quran. The app does it in a very fun way so if you or anyone you know is starting out with reading Arabic, I would definitely recommend!

Projects | Quranic: Arabic for Busy People | LaunchGood

Fav Quote: “You will start to enjoy life more the more you say yes to things” – Zoella (see my tuesday thoughts for more)


 

Summer Goals

But first, let’s see how May goals went.

  1. Finish the 99 Names Textbook ✔️
  2. Finish 3 courses on Deenstream ✔️
  3. Read every Arabic children’s book at home – 0.5
  4. Blog 8 times a month – 0.5
  5. Revise every chapter I know (Quran) – 0.5
  6. Complete the daily Ramadan challenge ✔️
  7. Do Pilates every other day ✔️
  8. Have a great birthday and Eid! ✔️

6.5/8 – Whoop whoop!

Now for my summer bucket list:

  1. Read 8 Books
  2. Post 8 times a month
  3. Understand a calliou episode in French
  4. Improve arabic skills
  5. Homeschool siblings
  6. Learn how to do all the chores
  7. Make dinner by myself
  8. Finish 6 courses on Deenstream
  9. Go junk food free by the end of the summer
  10. ACTUALLY revise every chapter I know (Quran) 

I have a few more but I think these are my main focuses. I guess I’ll see you guys with another update in two months? Ah I hope everything goes back to normal by September. We’ll see.


Anddd that’s a double wrap.

How was e-learning?

How’s life?

How’s blogging?

June favs?

Summer goals?

Do you like the new bi-monthly updates?

Should productivity tips I find along the way be a post or a series of short posts?

Tell me everythingggg. I’ll see you all in my next post.

Bayyy 💞

15 thoughts on “May + June Wrappers (lifestyle changes, bird drama, gardening + more)

  1. Elsie LMC says:

    Sounds like you had such a nice month! I had no idea putting a lettuce in water would start it off growing 😵 Will definitely be giving that a go. I’m so happy you found that writing down your blog posts helped!! It’s the only way for me to get things done 😂 Haven’t watched Ratatouille in years, going to have to find it as it is good. You did so well with your goals, best of luck with the next lot ✨ And yeah I’d love to see a post on productivity! Do what you want but I’d prefer a single post as then all of the tips will be in one place and easy to find 💫 Hope you have a brilliant July! Take care 💕💕

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bayance says:

      Yes! Tysm for reading!! Right?! I was shook too. Let me know how it goes! Yesss it’s so much better and I’ve seen a dramatic decrease in my time typing. Yesss Ratatouille was so much fun haha. Tysm!!! True true thank you so much for the suggestion. ❤ You as well!!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. El says:

    My dad put a lettuce in water & it’s so weird to watch them grow! Like how do they do that?! It’s like lizards when they get their tails sniped off too, man, nature’s weird.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. crystalsandcurls says:

    Um WHAT about the lettuce? I must try – I grow avocados out of the seeds and LOVE any veggies or fruit i can grow at home 🙂 Also, I would love some productivity tips – mine has been SLACKING at the moment. I agree with you – I love finding new bloggers because they’re super active and consistent and excited!xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bayance says:

      Right!? It’s just amazing watching them grow and anything that you can grow at home is just so convenient. And wow avocados don’t grow in Canada but that must be so cool! I need a lot of productivity tips from YOU but thank you so much I will try my best to get that posted as soon as possible. That is so true it’s just so nice to see and it reminds me of our good old days even though it’s only been like three years lol. Tysm for reading!!

      Like

  4. Amber says:

    What an amazing month/s 😂 That is so crazy about the lettuce, I still can’t believe it! My gosh that apple pie turnover looks absolutely delicious, writing down your blog posts sounds like a really good idea! I use the app calendar (me? Basic? Never…) and just put the posts roughly when I think I’ll post them and set reminders so my procrastinating brain gets guilt tripped into writing them 🤭 So happy you got to go on walks with your friends! I’ve been trying to meet up with my friends at least once a week to keep the social aspect of life going 💕 Anyways I am wishing you all the best in July Bay and good luck on your goals! I just know you’re going to slay them! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Anna Coleman says:

    Bayyy thank you so much for the shout out!! You are literally so sweet and deserve a billion, trillion followers. It was really good to hear that you had a good Ramadan!! Eid food is soooo good!!
    I’m not Muslim, but I come from a Muslim place called Hyderabad and there we have this Eid delicacy called kheer, and last year I ate so much of that I felt like I was pregnant- I totally related😂😂 It was kind of sad I couldn’t have any kheer this year, because of lockdown:( But fingers crossed for next year:)

    The food you made looks awesome!! I wish I was that good at cooking. The most complicated dish I can make is a sandwich, and not even ones with the fancy ingredients- just your average bread and butter sandwich😂

    Have a June as amazing as you! Wishing you all the best and sending loads of love ❤
    Anna xx

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bayance says:

      No problem you literally deserve way moreee!!! ❤ Tysmsmsm for being an amazing blogger AND a supportive friend!! Tysmmm and yesss. Omg Arabs have something super similar to that where it's rice pudding or mouhalabieh or sahlab – these are all different milk porridges and ahhh they're so good!

      OmGGG first of all my mom did most of it and I tried to follow her instructions but trust me I wouldn't be able to cook one spaghetti strip without her there! 😂

      Tysmmmm!! YOU AS WELL!! ❤ You made my day!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment