I Finally Figured Out How To Make Homemade Granola Bars (no bake, zero waste, healthy) ft. 3 RECIPES

Hey girl hey. And boy.

As I’m going through my transition of eating habits from packaged to homemade, I’m constantly on the hunt for new snack recipes. I noticed that I eat granola bars way too often and all though store-bought granola bars seem like the healthiest you can get, I found 3 problems:

  1. Too much sugar – store bought granola bars usually have additives and lots of sugar, making it not as healthy as one might think.
  2. Not filling – I don’t know about you but granola bars just increase my appetite and I find myself eating more than the ‘one granola bar a day’ policy (shh don’t tell my parents)
  3. Too much packaging – a pack of granola bars usually comes with 24 or 48  individually packaged bars; this all takes up space in landfills and leads to even more carbon emissions.

So I started searching online and after a bit of trial and error I finally found what makes granola bars stick together.

It’s heat.

(no way sherlock)

Earlier, I thought the same recipe we use for oat balls can be applied to a normal granola bar but it turns out that wasn’t the case.

sdr

People who use dry oats put it in the oven but the key to no baking is that the oats have to be heated on a stove top for 2 to 3 minutes or the peanut butter and honey mixture needs to be heated in the microwave for 20 or so seconds. Combined, these make the stickiest and chewiest granola bars but either one can work.

That’s it!

Black Jeopardy GIFs - Get the best GIF on GIPHY

I also found that having date paste makes it turn out spectacular and that a peanut butter and honey mixture is better heated than simply mixed at room temperature.

But essentially, to make the most basic granola bar you will need:

1 1/2 cups of instant oats + 1/3 cup of peanut butter + 1/4 cup of honey 

(I think you can substitute peanut butter with alternative butters but I’m not a 100% sure)

and that’s it!

That'S It Fox Tv GIF by Rosewood - Find & Share on GIPHY

But because I like to be extra, here are my 3 go-to variations for granola bars.

And the best part?

  1. There are no added sugars
  2. It’s filling
  3. It’s plastic free!

Whether it’s cheaper or not depends on what additions you put but with these basic ingredients it’s definitely cheaper. I will add calculation under each recipe so you could compare it to the Fiber One granola bars. Let’s get starteddd.


 

  1. Basic Chocolate Chip Bars

This is my go-to when I don’t have nuts in the house.

What you need:

  • 1 1/2 cup of oats (60 cents)
  • 1/3 cup peanut butter (31 cents)
  • 1/4 cup honey (18 cents)
  • 1/4 cup of chocolate chip (28 cents)
  • coconut sprinkle (optional)
  • vanilla extract (optional)

Procedure:

  1. Heat up the oats for 2-3 minutes on medium heat until warm. This is not necessary but I find it sticks them better together and it removes bloating that raw oats will cause.
  2. Microwave 1/3 cup peanut butter with 1/4 cup of honey in the microwave for 20 seconds until smooth and easy to pour.
  3. Combine oats and liquid mixture and gently fold in chocolate chips so they don’t melt.
  4. Grease a square pan with a drop of oil or use parchment paper to mold the bars in place.  My mixture only fills around 3/4 of the pan so you can always increase the yield to your liking.
  5. Refrigerate for 2 hours or freeze for 10-15 minutes if you’re in a rush (fridge works better tho)

dav

Total Price for 24 Bars (homemade): $2.76

Total price for 24 Bars (storebought): $9.99


 

2. Mix Nut Trail Bars

What you need:

  • 1 1/2 cup of oats (60 cents)
  • 1/3 cup peanut butter (31 cents)
  • 1/4 cup honey (18 cents)
  • 1/4 cup of chocolate chip (28 cents)
  • 1/4 mix nut trail (125 cents) (you can get it for cheaper in bulk)

Procedure:

  1. Heat up the oats for 2-3 minutes on medium heat until warm.
  2. Heat up 1/4 mix nut trail for 2-3 minutes until lightly roasted.
  3. Microwave 1/3 cup peanut butter with 1/4 cup of honey in the microwave for 20 seconds until smooth and easy to pour.
  4. Combine oats, nuts and liquid mixture.
  5. Grease a square pan with a drop of oil or use parchment paper to mold the bars in place.
  6. Refrigerate for 2 hours or freeze for 10-15 minutes if you’re in a rush (fridge works better tho)

dav

Total Price for 24 Bars (homemade): 5.24

Total price for 24 Bars (storebought): $9.99


 

3. Date Bars (the tastiest!)

My family still compliments me for these bars and I’ll link the recipe here but this is the ingredient combo I used.

What you need:

  • 1 1/2 cup of oats (60 cents)
  • 1 cup date paste (256 cents)
  • 1/4 cup peanut butter (24 cents)
  • 1/4 honey (18 cents)
  • 1/4 almonds (50 cents)
  • 1/4 peanuts (30 cents)

Procedure:

  1. Heat up the oats for 2-3 minutes on medium heat until warm.
  2. Heat up 1/4 almonds and 1/4 cup peanuts for 2-3 until roasted
  3. Microwave 1/4 cup peanut butter with 1/4 cup of honey in the microwave for 20 seconds until smooth and easy to pour.
  4. Combine oats, nuts and liquid mixture and finally add a cup of date paste.
  5. Grease a square pan with a drop of oil or use parchment paper to mold the bars in place.
  6. Refrigerate for 2 hours or freeze for 10-15 minutes if you’re in a rush (fridge works better tho)

mde

Total Price for 24 Bars (homemade): $8.76

Total price for 24 Bars (storebought):  $9.99


 

Anddd that’s all for today.

Have you ever made granola bars at home?

Which recipe was your favourite?

Do you have a favourite healthy snack? 

I’ll see you in my next post.

Bayyy. 💞

26 thoughts on “I Finally Figured Out How To Make Homemade Granola Bars (no bake, zero waste, healthy) ft. 3 RECIPES

  1. Jo says:

    ahhh bay this is highkey helpful because i have some kind of hypoglycemia but i can’t afford to keep buying all the time and it looks neat, thanks so much for this

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hafsa says:

    I love granola bars but hate that theyre countereffiecient bc of the same reasons you’ve mentioned. Thank you for this healthy and yummy looking recipes I might actually try making these later. Exciting!

    How long does each recipe lasts you?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bayance says:

      Tysm for reading!!! I totally agree! ❤ Let me know how it turns out.

      Since my family is quick to take some as well, it only lasts a day if I make one batch of 12 for everyone to take two. However if it was just me eating, it would last much longer. Sometimes I increase the yield and it would take more than a day to finish.

      Like

  3. Mary Añonuevo says:

    hello – guess who’s back! 👀 & i can’t be any happier bc i feel like i got back on a perfect timing! Chef bayance, everybody!! 👏
    Just WOW. B caring for the environment, the economy, while giving us 3 delicious granola recipes?? You just inspired me to finally change my eating habit, girl! Thank you so much for this!

    And u have to send me some of those mix nut trail bars! Can’t stop looking at it 😭

    Liked by 1 person

  4. arshia says:

    This is so great! I love all the reasons you chose to do this, and the no-plastic is just making me want to make these myself (even though I’m a hazard in the kitchen and probably eat one granola bar a year)!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. hiddenzzzzz says:

    Yes!! I learnt to make Granola since the beginning of the lockdown and ever since then I’ve been obsessed with making them 😂 But so far, I only made the the basic chocolate chip bars. I wanna making try date bars, they seem delicious!
    Thank you for sharing these recipes!!❤️

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bayance says:

      Yassss!!! Those are essentiallll. But honestly you can just toss in some more nuts and call it a day. I’m so excited to make date bars again! I didn’t know how I felt about it at first but it turned out so good! No problem! ❤️ Tysm for reading!!!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Amber says:

    Ooo the basic choc chip bars look so good! I agree, what I hate about granola bars in supermarkets is they’re advertised as so healthy and then you read the back and sometimes the sugar content is crazy high depending on what ones you get and then I’m like ‘that’s why they tasted so nice’ 😂 Ah agreed!! They never fill me up and I always want to reach and have another one which isn’t good at all and then I’m in this circle of craving another one but honestly knowing it’s not good to have another one 🤣 Thank you so much for sharing the recipes! I’ll be onto making these in summer for sure 💕 Lovely post Bay 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bayance says:

      Ahhh tysm!! Right?? Like I want to try to get in a healthy lifestyle but it’s just not working out when I’m eating from those granola bars. I used to, even after I said I won’t eat junk food anymore, eat granola bars and then I stopped recently and I just realized that the granola bar packs that we have in the house are staying MUCH longer than they used to so it may or not have been me eating them all along but yeah I totally feel you! No problem thank you so so much for reading Amber – you make my day. ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      • Amber says:

        No worries at all! Exactly, granola bars are just not the way forward.haha that’s hilarious! Your family must be over-joyed to have so many granola bars now 😂 Of course Bay it was so lovely to read your posts and that means the world to me that I can make your day!! 😊

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment