Why I Started Loving Chores (part 2) ft. instant productivity tips

Hey girl hey. And boy.

About two months ago, I made a post called ‘Why I Started Loving Chores‘ and I came up with ten reasons buuut the post was getting lengthy so I thought I’d do a part 2. If you haven’t read part one, make sure to do that first. I’ll wait. ๐Ÿ•ฐ๏ธ

Still waiting. ๐Ÿ•ฐ๏ธ๐Ÿ•ฐ๏ธ

Okay moving on. ๐Ÿ˜‚ Along with the rest of the 5 reasons, I thought I’d do quick tricks on getting into a productive mindset and I’m not some productivity youtuber or anything like that so my ideas literally mention wearing flip flops buuut I’ll do some research to give you more ideas at the end. Okay that was definitely a run-on sentence, so before my English teacher sues me, here are 5 more reasons to love chores! ๐Ÿ˜‚

P.S. I’m going to write a whole other post on productivity but these are just some things I do that instantly put me in a productive mood no matter how demotivated I am.


 

6. Feeling present in my family

Before doing chores, I would just spend a lot of time in my room on electronics and missed out on so much that went on like my baby brother growing up and talking to my mom more often. And when I’d go to eat, no peep would be heard from me. I was always grateful for my family but I never really present and was just revolved around my friends. My mom and I had so many arguments because I’d want to invite friends over or take her with me and then I wouldn’t assist her at all with cleaning and making food. But ever since I started doing chores, I felt like I’m seeing my family more often, feeling more present at the dinner table and just felt like my family were truly my rock. So if you ever feel like you can’t really connect with your parents, definitely try being more involved in the house.

7. Working my subconsciousย 

Whenever I clean, I used to listen to music because I was a bit too focused on cleaning or the sound of the water was too loud to focus on something like a podcast or Quran recitation. But recently, I started just putting Quran recitation on and I noticed that although I wasn’t fully attentive, my subconscious would catch on to rhythms of the reciter and I’d find that it would be soo much easier to memorize later. And honestly ever since I heard of what music can do to your subconscious, I’m like that’s it I’m going to try something else. ๐Ÿ‘‹ So if you ever need to memorize a speech or even learn a new language, your subconscious will become more familiar with it and it’ll be easier to retain.

8. Feeling like “I CAN”

I used to always tell myself that I couldn’t do chores like washing the dishes and cleaning bathrooms. And then I realized that the only thing restricting me from LEARNING is just my lack of presence. So soon, I started watching my mom cleaning and cooking and I realized that it truly isn’t rocket science. Everything comes with practice and now that I know I could clean better, (cooking is slow but moving) I feel like I can do anything else I want to learn if I put effort into it. Who knew chores could be empowering?

Tracee Ellis Ross Yes GIF by ABC Network - Find & Share on GIPHY

9. Gratitude

I never realized the importance of water in EVERYTHING until I started chores. Dishes? Water. Laundry? Water. Tables? Water. Cooking? Water. Like dang I feel so grateful for water and I think about all the people who don’t have it running from the tap like we do. I started feeling more grateful for clothes, electricity, my family, food and just so much that I never really paid attention to. I was listening to this lecture one time and this teacher was talking about how service to your mother is one of the greatest things you can do… if you have a mother. And I never realized how many people don’t have their mothers. So honestly, chores have definitely been a mindset changer.

10. Taking Responsibility

I once read this story about how this kid started helping with chores around the house to reduce his parent’s arguing. And although chores can’t come in the way of a relationship not working out, the story had an interesting question:

why do we act like we’re guests in our own home?

And that’s honestly so true. For so long, I just never helped out because I felt I wanted to just do what I want and deal with it when I’m older but responsibility starts now. I used to think I was so mature just because I got good grades at school but maturity is not that at all. Maturity starts the day you take responsibility.

Mojo ยป What We Will and Won't Miss About Living in the Dorms/Westwood


 

Oookay so now that we’re done with some more reasons, I want to share a few things I do that make me feel productive INSTANTLY and result in my motivation to clean more.

  • Wearing flip flops – Don’t ask. I’m not sure what this does but when the flip flops are on, I’m moving around the house like a cheetah.
  • Braid your hair – When my hair is braided, I feel like my strands of chaos are being braided and organized too. Don’t judge. Plus, it gets your hair out of the way.
  • Take a walk – I mentioned this in my last wrapper post but we seriously need to observe God’s creation because there is just so many insights on life you can get just by taking a walk. The fresh air helps clear my mind and when I see baby animals, my mood instantly goes from 0 to 100.
  • Make a smoothie – Now obviously if you’re full, this doesn’t really work but blending a few fruits with some milk can literally make all the difference, at least for me. I also like drinking cold milk with dates – it’s the most refreshing thing ever! But yeah any refreshing food like cold water, watermelon, cucumber…etc can improve your productivity.
  • Take a shower – Showers just help me reset overall. If I don’t have time for a shower at the moment, I’d just make wudu which I kind of explained in this post. If you workout before the shower, it’s even better!

Is planting possible in the shower?!

I think that’s about all for my instant productivity tips – the rest I will have to save for my productivity post next week and some of those are instant too but they’re more habitual so stay tuned for that.


Anddd that’s all for today.

Do you love chores?

Do you relate to any of these reasons?

Any instant productivity tips?

I’ll see you in my next post.

Bayyy. ๐Ÿ’ž

12 thoughts on “Why I Started Loving Chores (part 2) ft. instant productivity tips

  1. Jo says:

    alright, massive kudos to bay for getting me to sit and read a post about chores, of all things XD this was genuinely enjoyable to read, especially the parts about subconciousness and what not. and okay, yes, the flip flop thing does actually work, it’s strange. i have nothing else good to say except this is great and so are you *awkward fingerguns as i fade out of humanity*

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Shelly DS says:

    I hate chores! But I do them anyway. Music is the thing that helps me get through it! Well, that or just imagining my grandma turning in her grave to yell at me for being so messy!
    Also, flip flops? Hahaha

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Amber says:

    I love part 2 of why you started loving chores! ๐Ÿ’“ Iโ€™m definitely trying but I have decided that once a week Iโ€™m going to cook a meal for my family because I see my mum feeling tired but still cooking for us and the guilt just hits me so Project Cook is a-go-go! ๐Ÿ˜‚ FLIP FLOPS PAHA! I love it, but I agree I think itโ€™s the sound?! Like walking around the house in flip flops just makes you feel productive! And do peopleโ€™s showers really look like that! I have most likely the most un-aesthetic shower on the planet ๐Ÿ˜… That is QUITE a statement Amber lol! Anyways so nice to read your posts again ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Bayance says:

      Tysm!! YES AMBERRRR! I’m starting to help out with cooking but I’m definitely not at the stage of making my own meals haha so props to you honestly. and right!? like I don’t know I think they’re not really annoying sounds like the ones that you hear on the pool deck because I think mine are a bit thicker but yeah it’s just that like the elevation or just a feeling of having shoes on I guess but within the house? I don’t know and oml I found this picture online and I was so confused because how do plants even grow in there?? My parents actually have a window in the washroom but obviously it’s not like huge enough for people to see so maybe washrooms with that can work? Lol. Thank you so much for reading!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Amber says:

        No worries at all! Thank you so much and I am sure you will get there, Iโ€™ve only just loved cooking and baking from a young age and it just seems to come naturally to me but props to YOU for staying committed to it โค๏ธ Oh no worries I totally get you! Yes for some reason I get so lazy in slippers so I usually walk around in either flip flops or sometimes shoes if no-one is home because our house isnโ€™t carpeted! Yes that is actually crazy and the fact people would spend so much time making a shower aesthetic ๐Ÿ˜‚ Thatโ€™s so cool and I totally get you, we have windows but there like the blurred ones where you canโ€™t see inside or outside! Of course ๐Ÿฅฐ

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment